Academic Support and Student Resources

Philosophy and Objectives

We encourage students to become familiar with the services available to them, and with the college policies and procedures that pertain to them, by reading this handbook and other college publications. We also encourage students to familiarize themselves with essential forms such as enrollment/disclosure forms, fee receipts, bulletin board announcements and much more information available to students online, on course syllabi, etc.

While college staff take various steps to assess and meet the needs of all students, it is important that students understand that they have a shared responsibility to communicate their needs to the staff. We believe that by working together students’ experiences at Greenville Technical College can be both personally and professionally rewarding.

Suggestions or questions concerning student services should be directed to the dean of students or the vice president for student services.

Major Student Services goals include, but are not limited to

  • To admit applicants for admission to the college.
  • To evaluate students’ transcripts from other colleges, as applicable, to award transfer of credit.
  • To maintain students’ educational records in keeping with applicable standards and laws.
  • To help students learn more about themselves as a part of the career decision-making process.
  • To assist students and graduates in their search for employment.
  • To meet the special needs of students who are faced with disabling conditions.
  • To provide various supportive services to underserved or disadvantaged students.
  • To provide guidance and assistance to veterans and veterans’ dependents who are eligible for government benefits and other services on campus.
  • To provide extracurricular activities that enhance the classroom experience, promote leadership development and allow opportunities for social interaction outside of the classroom.
  • To respond to on-campus emergencies.
  • To guide students so they may plan productive pathways to completion and vibrant careers.
  • To orient students so that they may become fully engaged members of the college community.
  • To provide broad access to information resources required for learning and research.
  • To coach and tutor students beyond the classroom so that they fully comprehend course concepts.
  • To provide testing services and environments based on the highest standards of academic integrity.
  • To grant recognition of outstanding academic achievement through means such as the Dean’s List, President’s List, Honor Roll, the President’s Awards, the National Dean’s List and Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.
  • To help provide an environment that is safe, inclusive and conducive to learning.
  • To make referrals to other college departments or to off-campus agencies as necessary and appropriate.

Student Services for Distance Learners

The college’s goal is to make student services available to all students. In addition to the information available on the college website, the following serves as a list of resources for distance education students so they may access the many services provided by a variety of offices and departments when it is not convenient for the student to come to campus.

Student Services Contacts

Academic Coaching and Tutoring

Phone: (864) 250-8303
E-mail: Ember.Cunningham@gvltec.edu

Academic Advising

E-mail: advising@gvltec.edu

Academic Testing Center

Phone: (864) 250-8020
E-mail: AcademicTestingCenter@gvltec.edu

Bookstore

Phone: (864) 250-8173
Fax: (864) 250-8503
E-mail: Rosa.Hudson@gvltec.edu

Business Office

Phone: (864) 250-8818
Fax: (864) 250-8828
E-mail: Doris.Downs@gvltec.edu

Caring Corner Emergency Food Pantry

Phone: (864) 250-8003
E-mail: Crystal.Pitrois@gvltec.edu

Center for Career and Professional Development

Phone: (864) 250-8222
Fax: (864) 250-5566
E-mail: Ileka.Leaks@gvltec.edu

Counseling

Phone: (864) 250-8157
Fax:    (864) 250-8580
E-mail: Gina.Terry@gvltec.edu

Dean of Students

Phone: (864) 250-8102
Fax:    (864) 250-5566
E-mail: Brett.Gaffney@gvltec.edu

Educational Opportunity Programs

Phone: (864) 250-8959
Fax: (864) 250-8193
E-mail: Alecia.Watkins@gvltec.edu

Enrollment Services

Phone: (864) 250-8000
Fax: (864) 250-8534
E-mail: Tracy.Leigh@gvltec.edu

Financial Aid

Phone: (864) 250-8750
Fax:    (864) 250-8750
E-mail: Martin.Carney@gvltec.edu

Financial Education Center

Phone: (864) 250-8267
E-mail: Amber.Morgan@gvltec.edu

Library Services and Computer Labs

Phone: (864) 250-8319
Text: (864) 438-3425
E-mail: gtclibrary@gvltec.edu

Placement Testing

Phone: (864) 250-8107
Fax: (864) 250-8535
E-mail: Tanisha.Latimer@gvltec.edu

Planning and Transfer Headquarters (PATH)

Phone: (864) 250-8393
E-mail: Chris.Satterfield@gvltec.edu

Student Activities

Phone: (864) 250-8077
Fax: (864) 250-5566
E-mail: Jaquetta.Ross@gvltec.edu

Student Disability Services

Phone: (864) 250-8408
Fax: (864) 250-5566
E-mail: Elaine.Scott-Mattison@gvltec.edu

Student Records

Phone: (864) 250-8114
Fax: (864) 250-8535
E-mail: Gloria.Carden@gvltec.edu

Transcript Evaluation

Phone: (864) 250-8004
Fax: (864) 250-8535
E-mail: Reva.McCluney@gvltec.edu

Veterans Affairs

Phone: (864) 250-8122 or 250-8447
Fax: (864) 250-8988
E-mail: Anthony.Davis@gvltec.edu